Northern Kentucky Area Planning Commission Meeting Minutes: December 12, 2007

Chairman Bill Goetz called the combined December discussion forum/business meeting of the Northern Kentucky Area Planning Commission to order at 4:30 PM in the administrative conference room of the NKAPC Building in Fort Mitchell. Attendance of members was as follows.

	Term	Present	Absent
Chairman Bill Goetz	May 2006 through May 2008	X	
Vice Chairman Tom Kriege	May 2006 through May 2008	X	
Treasurer Tom Litzler	May 2006 through May 2008	X	
Commissioner Gloria Grubbs	May 2006 through May 2008	X	
Commissioner Lou Noll	May 2007 through May 2009	X	
Commissioner Billy Bradford	May 2007 through May 2009	X	
Commissioner Gene Weaver	May 2007 through May 2009	X	

Also present were: Mike Williams, Sherrill Morgan and Associates; Jan Crabb, Fiscal/Human Resources Administrator; Stacy Hege Tapke, Legal Counsel; Dennis Andrew Gordon, FAICP, Executive Director; and, Gail Deatherage, Administrative Assistant.

Commissioner Noll gave the invocation.

ACCEPTANCE OF AGENDA

Chairman Goetz asked for review of the agenda and a motion for acceptance. Commissioner Kriege made a motion to accept the agenda as recommended; Commissioner Grubbs seconded the motion. Chairman Goetz asked for a voice vote on the motion which found unanimous approval. The motion passed.

Chairman Goetz asked if the Minutes of November 28, 2007, business meeting were acceptable or if anyone had any additions/corrections. Commissioner Kriege made a motion to accept the Minutes as presented; Commissioner Noll seconded the motion. Chairman Goetz asked for a roll call vote which found Commissioners Kriege, Noll, Grubbs, Litzler, Bradford, Weaver, and Chairman Goetz in favor; the motion passed.

Chairman Goetz asked for a report from legal counsel. Ms. Tapke noted there was nothing to report. There were no questions.

Mr. Gordon reported that the initial draft of the FY07 audit had been received from VanGorder Walker CPAs and that a representative of the firm would attend the January 9th meeting to present its findings.

Mr. Gordon stated that the IRS reimbursement rate for use of private vehicles would increase from 48.5 cents to 50.5 cents per mile on January 1st and noted this would have budget implications. He reported that staff is working to review the rate the Commission pays its inspectors but that there was nothing to recommend at this time.

Mr. Gordon stated that action is scheduled on a recommendation from the By-Laws, Personnel, and Procedures Committee to approve Chapters 1-7 of the revised NKAPC Personnel, Regulations, Policies, and Procedures Manual. Committee Chair Grubbs noted that the only outstanding issue is on Page 35 regarding sick leave hours and PTO. Commissioner Noll stated he objected to transferring sick leave hours to PTO as he feels sick time is "sick time" and should not go into vacation/personal time. Mr. Litzler expressed similar concerns. Mr. Gordon responded and explained how the sick leave hours are accrued. After further discussion, Commissioner Kriege made a motion to accept the recommended text as presented and to approve Chapters 1-7 of the NKAPC Personnel, Regulations, Policies, and Procedures Manual effective January 01, 2008; Commissioner Bradford seconded the motion. Chairman Goetz asked for a roll call vote which found Commissioners Kriege, Bradford, Grubbs, and Weaver in favor and Commissioners Noll, Litzler, and Chairman Goetz opposed. The motion passed 4-3.

Chairman Goetz asked if there were any questions for Mr. Gordon; there were none.

Chairman Goetz asked for comments and reports from members.

Commissioner Kriege noted that several members of the Lang-Range Operations Committee and Mr. Gordon had met with Greg Engleman regarding the financial adviser position and gave some brief overview of that meeting.

NEW BUSINESS

Chairman Goetz stated that Mr. Williams was present to give some an overview of proposal medical insurance coverage for CY08. Mr. Williams gave an update on negotiations with various insurance companies and noted that Anthem had offered the best savings. He passed out information on the network benefits of coverage from Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield, showing two options under the Anthem Blue Access and the Anthem HSA. He explained the two options and answered some general questions from members. After some further discussion, Commissioner Noll made a motion to approve the Anthem Blue Access/Anthem HSA coverage as recommended; Commissioner Kriege seconded the motion. Chairman Goetz asked if there were any questions; there were none. He then asked for a roll call vote which found Commissioners Noll, Kriege, Grubbs, Bradford, Weaver, Litzler, and Chairman Goetz in favor. The motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Gordon reminded members of the Commission's "opt out" program for CY07 medical insurance for employees with outside medical insurance coverage. He recommended that the numbers remain the same this year (report attached to the original Minutes). He answered some general questions from the members. Commissioner Noll made a motion to accept the recommendation of staff regarding the "opt out" program for CY08; Commissioner Weaver seconded the motion. Chairman Goetz asked if there were any questions; there were none. He then asked for a roll call vote which found Commissioners Noll, Weaver, Kriege, Grubbs, Bradford, Litzler, and Chairman Goetz in favor. The motion passed unanimously

Mr. Gordon recommended that Ralph Grieme be reappointed to a one-year term representing NKAPC on the OKI Board of Trustees. Commissioner Litzler made a motion to reappoint Mr. Grieme to the OKI Board of Trustees; Commissioner Noll seconded the motion. Chairman Goetz asked if there were any questions; there were none. He then asked for a roll call vote which found Commissioners Litzler, Noll, Weaver, Kriege, Grubbs, Bradford, and Chairman Goetz in favor. The motion passed unanimously

Chairman Goetz asked if there were any other comments or business to come before the Commission. There being no further business, he adjourned the meeting with unanimous consent at 5:40 PM.

Bill Goetz, Chairman	
Dennis Andrew Gordon, FAICP	
Executive Director/Secretary	