What's New?

PDS Council welcomes new members; elects officers, board members

The impacts of November’s elections were apparent last month when the PDS Council met for its annual organizational meeting. Someone other than the elected official who sat on the council in 2014 represented eight of the Council’s 20 jurisdictions. Edgewood Mayor John Link was elected the council’s president for 2015; Lakeside Park Mayor Dave Jansing was elected vice president and Elsmere Mayor Marty Lenhof was re-elected secretary. All terms run through January next year.

In another voting procedure, councilmembers elected three individuals to serve two-year terms on the PDS Management Board. Elected were County Commissioner Beth Sewell of Covington, Covington Mayor Sherry Carran, and former Taylor Mill mayor Mark Kreimborg.
Four other individuals serve on the management board, having been elected in 2014 to two-year terms. They are former Fort Wright mayor Tom Litzler, Crestview Hills Mayor Paul Meier, former Fort Mitchell mayor Bill Goetz, and former Independence mayor Chris Moriconi.

As directed by the Kentucky Revised Statutes, the PDS Council provides a forum in which Kenton County planning issues can be debated and consensus can be achieved. With a membership of elected officials only, the council is also responsible for final review of the organization’s annual budget and the tax rate that funds it.

The management board is the body that sets the organization’s general direction, oversees the county’s planning staff, and develops its annual work program and budget.

Others included on the ballot for seats on the management board were former Fort Wright mayor Gene Weaver and former Villa Hills mayor Mike Martin.