Kenton County's Planning Infrastructure

The decision-making focus of Kenton County’s planning program is the 20-citizen-member Kenton County Planning Commission that is charged with the responsibilities assigned in Chapter 100 of the Kentucky Revised Statutes (KRS). Also included on the citizen side of the program are the various boards of adjustment and code enforcement boards put in place by the participating local governments. These boards provide relief from one-size-fits-all zoning requirements and a forum for hearing pleas from those cited for being in violation of their local zoning ordinance.

The administrative focus of the planning program is the staff that supports the various citizen-based boards and planning commission. Essentially a city-county planning and development department, Planning and Development Services of Kenton County (PDS) is provided oversight by a council of 20 elected officials and directed by a seven-member management board responsible for hiring the executive director.

The staff itself is made up of over 40 certified professional planners, building officials, engineer and infrastructure inspectors, GIS professionals, code enforcement officials, land surveyor, and the requisite administrative support personnel.

Kenton County Planning Infrastructure Diagram